Home

It’s been two days since my hair has started dropping. I’m not talking chunks of hair, but when I brush my hair, or gently pull on it, there is a noticeable amount of hair. And, it doesn’t stop. I could keep going on and on and there would seem to be no end to strands coming out. In the end, I just had to stop and say enough. Point is, I’m going to have less hair. Much less.

I had my hair cut this week. Then, my hair started to fall out 2 days later!

I had my hair cut this week. Then, my hair started to fall out 2 days later!

How much less? A casual guess would be 50%. But who knows. When I actually experienced it, I only then realised how much women have an emotional tie to their hair. I’ve always been happy to experiment, with length, style and colour. After all, it’s hair, it grows back. But even so, while I thought I’d be OK with just scarves and going natural, I wasn’t prepared for how vulnerable it made me feel to think that I’d have less hair. It would make me look different. It would whisper gently “I have cancer”. People may stare, or rather, people will try not to look. Would I get used to that?

So, I went wig shopping, just to see what options there were. I headed to Takashimaya department store on Orchard Road, as the nurses at my oncologists recommended it. The store houses a Japanese brand of wigs. I should have expected that this wasn’t your run of the mill wig shop selling fun purple and green wigs. This was serious stuff. The shop assistant, Kyoko san (Japanese naturally) was very professional, and compassionate, and patient – they had a lot of chemo women come by. She explained that the wigs they sold are either hand stitched or machine stitched, and either are fully synthetic or are mixed with natural hair. There comes with it a hefty price tag for the hand stitched and mixed hair.

I tried a few on. Started with a blonde one – for fun. I’m not sure I’d wear it everyday but to go out sure! My Sister said I looked like a Japanese anime version of Posh Spice. I didn’t actually take that too badly! Quite fun I thought! Then I tried a few more on, and it was apparent that the hand stitched, mixed hair was definitely a cut above the rest. Imagine … Flying economy versus the first class suites. But I must stress, their economy isn’t a Budget airlines economy, we’re still talking Singapore Airlines economy or premium economy here folks. But the first class suites, er I mean wigs –  wow. Just wow. I tried them on whilst I still had  hair, but I sensed that if you were bald, it would make the biggest difference to have the feeling of, what I can only describe as, “fairy gossamer wings” on your pate.

Very similar to my pre-cut style. Not very comfortable

Very similar to my pre-cut style. Not very comfortable

 

No! Too styled! Very bouncy. I've never had hair this bouncy and Long before!

No! Too styled! Very bouncy. I’ve never had hair this bouncy and Long before!

Blonde and Posh ;) (spice). This wasn't the most comfortable, synthetic and machine stitched

Blonde and Posh 😉 (spice). This wasn’t the most comfortable, synthetic and machine stitched

The most expensive, but, there's a price for the feeling of fairy gossamer wings.... I quite like this one. Sensible.

The most expensive, but, there’s a price for the feeling of fairy gossamer wings…. I quite like this one. Sensible.

But, it’s expensive. I can’t even say how much it is on this blog, it’s that much. All my friends have balked at the price, but, all agree as well, that if it helps my emotional state of mind, then surely it’s worth it. To his credit, The Rock sent me a text saying “Get as many as you want”. Aw. True love. And yes, he knew how much they cost.

I’m currently writing this whilst sitting on the balcony wearing a scarf on my head. I’m testing it out. In the past, I’ve always felt it’s too warm (for me) to wear a scarf in our tropical weather. So I’m giving it a go, to see how I feel. I have three choices :

1)Just go bald, go with the flow, see what happens

2) Wear a scarf when I want, if I want

3) Wear a wig.

Trying the scarf look - also picked up a new pair of glasses today. This could be a look I'll wear sometimes.

Trying the scarf look – also picked up a new pair of glasses today. This could be a look I’ll wear sometimes.

Or, all three. As long as I buy the wig that is. I’m going to give it a week, see how I go and if I can stomach the expense of the wig.

Any th0ughts?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “To wig or not to wig?

  1. You are such a beautiful woman – you will look hip and rock-star with no hair! : ) Have fun, play with make-up! There are lots of cool scarf wrapping techniques on Pinterest.
    You are beautiful w/or without hair or wig! Go with what feels most comfortable!
    Hoe very LOVED you are, Ali!!

  2. The most expensive one looks most appealing, but have all 3 options, you’ll look good with scarfs as well, stay strong Aly

  3. Go with the flow! As with the wig look, I like the last one. Regardless, you rock, from inside out, with or without hair! XX!

  4. I so relate to your feelings of vulnerability, losing your hair magnifies everything about having cancer. You will find what works best for you and what you feel most comfortable with. I had loads of scarves at the ready but I didn’t feel able to wear them out. I have found I’m most comfortable wearing wigs.
    I especially like the first and last ones you’re pictured in. I would recommend going with a colour that feels natural to you and suits your eye colour/skin tone. You have a beautiful face and will look fab in whatever you choose. All the best xxx

    • Thanks for the kind words 🙂 I’ve bought a few scarf like things which are on their way, but wearing a scarf to me screams cancer.. I’ve since bought two wigs (will write a post on that soon!) and I’m looking forward to this new persona 🙂

Leave a Reply

