Home

Benjamin Franklin said that the only things that were certain in life were death and taxes. Funnily enough, this week I’ve been thinking of both. I was a bit naughty and failed to submit my taxes on time, so I only filed them this week. Got slapped a little fine, but at least it’s done – electronically I might add. How easy is that to do??

Regarding Death, The Rock and I have been thinking for years about who would be guardian to our girls should we both be hit by a stray meteor simultaneously, or something similar. We’ve uhm-d and ah-d for years on who would be the best choice. It’s a bit tricky as we live in a country where neither of us have family. If something were to happen, then what’s more important :

  1. Keeping the girls in their environment aka country and school, where they’d feel most secure?
  2. Or sending them either to the UK or Malaysia to live with family, where their lives would be uprooted but at least it’s “family”. Don Corleone was all about that.

What decided it for us, where would the girls feel loved, be brought up with parenting values that are nearly identical to ours, and by a family whom we trust implicitly and have a closeness to? Once we asked ourselves that question, it all fell neatly into place. We’ve  now asked them, and they have said yes (thank you S&C, from the bottom of my heart).

I have to say when I heard that, my heart felt so light, and at the same time, I nearly burst into tears. Of course, it’s never going to happen, right? What are the chances? But if it did, I know that we’ve done the right thing for our girls, and they will be loved and cared for. They will also be within The Family, and these girls will be such frequent flyers as they will travel across the seas to see their family in the other country.

So in the meantime, as I can’t avoid taxes, I will definitely try to avoid death. Apart from eating healthily, keeping fit, and going about my everyday life with care, well, that’s all I can do. But at least, if the grim reaper were to appear, I will go with a smile on my face knowing that the most important people in my life will be OK.

Monkey and Bimble sisters forever

2 thoughts on “Death and Taxes

  1. We went through the same thing with our kids. It’s hard. And we decided, and the people said yes, but ten year later their situation has changed, so right now we have no one and we’re just crossing our fingers until we go through the whole process again.

Leave a Reply

