Home

I haven’t posted in a while because I’ve had a lot of trouble loading Word Press lately. Everytime I try to get to my dashboard or click on “Add New” it takes forever to load that I’ve just given up (anyone else experienced that?). So as my evenings were rather free, I thought I’d do something I haven’t had a chance to do in a while, read a book.

Reading before bed was as normal and necessary as breathing to me. But I hadn’t bought a book in a while, not one that wasn’t related to pilates anyway. So I surveyed our large bookcase, which I discovered contained mainly The Rock’s books, as I tend to give away finished books. He doesn’t read fiction though. His favourite genre are engineering, marine and sport. Then I spotted a book that I bought him for his birthday, called “The Black Swan” (no relation to the movie). Written by Nassim Nicolas Taleb, it’s mainly about random events and how you can’t predict outcomes.

I settled into bed for a good read, feeling rather intelligent, and a few minutes into it The Rock comes in, sees what I’m reading, and just about pee’s himself laughing so hard. I’m indignant. I say “right, you don’t think I’m going to finish this book do you? I’ll prove to you that I will. Yessiree”.

Then 3 minutes later, he comes back into the room, finds the book is now on the floor, and I’m playing Scrabble on my iPhone. Turns out he was right. I just can’t read “high brow” books.

But I’m not stupid. Honest. I did well in exams, received a fully paid scholarship for my education, got my 2.1 in Uni, became a trader then a broker etc. But I do have a record of not finishing books that I find dull. The Black Swan’s topic fascinated me. But ooooooh boy, the way he wrote it just made my eyes glaze right over. “Holy Land Holy War” (see photo) was another one. I started it about 10 years ago, again fascinated by the Israeli/Palestinian conflict. As The Rock said “that book was a current events book when you started it. It’s now history”. It’s unfinished.

Door Stoppers. The unfinished books

Then there’s the golden nugget – the biography of Chairman Mao. Fascinating! And ooh look how thick the book is (see picture). I felt smug thinking that people would think me really really really clever if they saw me reading this. When I found I was still reading page 73 after a half hour, I discarded it, leaving it to collect dust.

What do I read instead? Well I love chick lit books and I’m not afraid or embarrassed to admit it. I also love crime, thrillers, and of course The Twilight saga (hello! I’m a mother of 2 and married why on earth wouldn’t I fall in love with Edward?? He’s the perfect man!). I also read some non fiction but only finish the ones that are read in non flowery prose and topics that I personally find interesting, like “Bringing Home The Birkin”. To the eye rollers reading this, can I just defend myself by saying that for my pilates certification I had to read anatomy books and know where all the muscles in the human body are, what they do, where they originate from and where they insert. So there.

Ah, a bit of light reading whilst enjoying a soy latte

So I’m not stupid. I like to call myself “fluffy round the edges”. I did my obligatory degree in Economics and Accounting and ….zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

Sorry I fell asleep there just writing it. Sure university was great fun. But I didn’t enjoy the degree I chose. Perhaps I  should have done interior design or something along those lines. I sometimes say that I should never have gone to universtity. I mean, look at what I’m doing now? I’m a pilates instructor, and I LOVE it!

But I suppose had I never gone down the path of reading Economics and bloody accounting, then I wouldn’t have been hired in the oil industry, I wouldn’t have moved to Singapore, I wouldn’t have met The Rock, and I wouldn’t have become a pilates instructor. So given all that, I’m glad that I did.

I’ll let you know if I read a “high brow” book. I have given up on the Black Swan – for now – but managed to see a Robert Ludlum sticking out of one of the book shelves so I’m giving that a whirl. Ah! The Cold War! Espionage! Thriller! That’s more like it. Not chick lit, but I don’t have to process too much, and that’s just how I like it. Thank you very much.

3 thoughts on “I’m not stupid, just fluffy

  1. Your writing alone is justification enough of how ‘not stupid’ you are 🙂 Reading is reading–no matter what it is. If it evokes some kind of emotion out of you, takes you on an adventure, and all those other cliche things us book people say a book should do for a reader, high brow or not, then it’s pretty much done its job.

    • Thanks! My 6 year old has started to read like a demon, and I can’t wait to get her The Magic Faraway Tree as that was one of my favourite books growing up and I’d love to read it with her. (Ps good luck getting a job in Dubai!)

      • That’s wonderful! Start ’em young and get them hooked for life. And thank you, hoping it fairs better than in the UK and US 🙂

Leave a Reply

