Home

Apart from being a wife, mum, pilates instructor, I also sing in a band. Oh maybe I ought to clarify that we’re a pub cover band. We had our first gig 11 years ago, and I was so sure of myself, there wasn’t an ounce of doubt in my mind that I wouldn’t rock the stage. It never occured to me that it wasn’t my stage presence that was in danger of letting me down. It was my memory – I forgot many… many words. Think lots of mumbling and “nana…dididoo doo dum…”

Today in the car, an old ’80s hit by Terence Trent D’Arby came on, and I started singing along. And it struck me how that really, as a singer, I am truly terrible at remembering lyrics, or even figuring out what the lyrics actually are! I think the actual lyrics are “a wishing well of crocodile tears” and I was singing “a wishing well, of coconut ears”. Of course it doesn’t make sense. But it never quite occured to me that it didn’t make sense.

I drive my husband crazy whenever CSI (las vegas) comes on, and the song by the Who “Who are you” comes on, and I sing “whooooooooooo’s Bobby”. Even when he told me what the actual words were, I still just can’t let go of what I think it is.

Another one – Bohemian Rhapsody, Queen. The line “Beelzebebub has a devil put aside for me” and my wondrous take on it is “Beelzebub has a devil for a sideboard me”.

While these make me chuckle, after all, one must be able to laugh at one self, I was really embarrased this christmas. There was a story behind it, but you know that christmas song “We wish you a merry christmas”? Well the second verse, originally is :

Well bring me a figgy pudding, well bring me a figgy pudding etc.

As long as I’ve been singing this song, so going back 3 decades and change, I have been singing …. (I’m really embarrased to write this):

Well bring me a Pretty pudding, well bring me a Pretty pudding….Etcetera.

What does Figgy mean anyway?? C’mon! And puddings ARE pretty! With all that holly and stuff.

And then I realised today I make things up sometimes in pilates too. When I was starting out, wanting to tell someone to keep their legs parallel, I’d say “legs paralellelley” – Yes try saying that quickly 3 times.

So, I make things up. Oh and don’t get me started on trying to explain the way things work to my 6 year old. I make things up too. Maybe THAT I should try to stick to the actual facts.

2 thoughts on “What’s in a word anyway?

  1. Ha ha ha – loving the song lyric thing – do you know what I found out the other day? Bryan Adams didn’t have his first thrill at sixteen – he got his first real six-string!!!!! Love you xxx

Leave a Reply

